Jesse Smith & The Holy Ghost


Jesse Smith – Vocals/Guitar
Breyer White – Guitar/Vocals
Brandon Joy – Drums/Vocals
Dakota Walker – Guitar
Tyler “Ralph” Moyers – Bass

Hometown – Parkersburg, WV

Latest Video


Hailing from the small town of Parkersburg, West Virginia, Jesse Smith has lived the all too familiar “ups” and “downs” of the music business for the last 20 years. As a founding member of the seminal Christian metal-core band Zao, Jesse went on to sell thousands of records, tour the world with some of the biggest names in metal, and influence the sound of countless major heavy acts.

“Over the years I have struggled to find my place as a songwriter,” explains Jesse. “I’m a fan of heavy music, but I’ve always been into all types of stuff. When I began writing these songs, I just wrote from the heart, with no preconceived notions of what they would turn out to be but it’s been an amazing experience creating music and art with so many dear friends,” Smith says. “These songs are straight-up what I was looking to do. When I began, I wasn’t sure who I was, but now I know.

Smith and his live band – drummer Brandon Joy, bassist Ralph Moyers, and guitarists Breyer White and Dakota Walker, also had the opportunity to hone their chops and test new post-classic alt rock material live as they took to the stage at renowned festivals like Milwaukee’s Summerfest, Delaware’s Dewey Beach Music Festival and Cornerstone Festival, as well as headlining and support gigs throughout the East Coast and Midwest backing artists like He Is Legend, Sleepwave, Filter, Saving Abel, Trapt, and more.  The band’s first EP sold well over 1000 copies quickly in 2013 which truly spoke to Jesse that he was on the right path so over the next few years, he painted the portrait of his life in his music as he developed as an artist and a person.

After months of playing the label waiting game, Jesse Smith & the Holy Ghost’s debut full length titled Love:Hate:Live:Die is being released in June of 2016 through Standby Records. The group tracked the album at Michael Seifert’s Ante Up Audio (Dave Matthews Band, Fountains of Wayne) with Brandon Zano producing and engineering. With a release date set and tours running through the end of 2016, the future is bright.

Tour Dates